The inception of the IIT Bhubaneswar in the state of Odisha was the result of rapid expansion of the IIT System. The Institute formally came into existence on 9th May 2008, as a part of the 11th five-year plan and declared as an Institute of national importance on 29th June 2012. Though, the Institute started functioning on 23rd July 2008 from various campuses, the foundation stone of the permanent campus of the Institute was laid at Argul located at the foothills of the majestic and historic Barunei hills, the picturesque country side of Khordha district, 40 kilometers away from the hustle and bustle of the city center on 12th February 2009, after the allotment of the 936 acres of land by the Govt. of Odisha. Thus, the Institute decided to celebrate 12th February as the Institute Foundation Day. The Phase-I construction of the permanent campus at Argul started on 15th August 2011, and Institute started its relocation to the permanent campus, in a phased manner starting 18th July 2015 (Ratha Yatra of Shri Lord Jagannatha), which was completed on 14th July 2018 (Ratha Yatra of Shri Lord Jagannatha). The Phase-II construction of the campus is rapidly progressing and most likely to be over by the end of 2019. The new and permanent campus of the Institute was dedicated to the nation on 24th December 2018, by the honorable prime minister of India.