#### REGISTRATION PROCESS / FEE

Regular registration (Faculty/ Scientists): ₹ 4000/-Students: ₹ 2000/-

Participants are required to make the payment via online/digital mode to the following bank account for the training program and conference, separately:

Name on the account : CEP, IIT Bhubaneswar
Account number : 24282010001960
IFS Code : CNRB0017282

Branch Name : IIT Bhubaneswar, Argul Branch

Participants are requested to submit a 2-page abstract, 12 point double space that will be reviewed by a committee of experts, and paper for oral and poster presentations will be selected accordingly. The deadline for submission of abstract is 10 November, 2021. The abstracts along with the application in the prescribed format should be made available online on www.irad.in. The authors will be informed of the disposition of the papers by 25 November, 2021.

### IMPORTANT DATES

Abstract submission : 10 November, 2021
Abstract acceptance : 25 November, 2021
Registration : 05 December, 2021

#### CONTACT

Dr Srinivasa Ramanujam Kannan, General Chair, iRAD-2022 SMS, IIT Bhubaneswar, 752050 INDIA Prof. K. Jayanarayanan, Co-Chair, iRAD-2022 CORAL, IIT Kharagpur, 721302 INDIA.

Email: info@irad.in



## 5<sup>th</sup> CONFERENCE ON

# INDIA RADAR METEOROLOGY

(iRAD - 2022)



9 — 11 January 2022



Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India-752050

#### ABOUT IRAD

To promote the growth of radar meteorology in the country, the Fifth Conference on India Radar Meteorology (iRAD 2022) will be hosted by the Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar (IITBBS), 752050, Odisha, India, from 9 to 11 January, 2022.

#### TUTORIAL

To train young scientists in the field of RADAR METEOROLOGY, iRAD-2022 organizes a one-day virtual training on the following topics;
 Al/ML techniques for weather radar and hydrological applications.

#### **SPEAKERS**

- Prof. V. Chandrasekar (CSU, Colorado, USA)
- Dr. Haonan Chen (CSU, Colorado, USA)
- Dr J Indu (IIT Bombay)
- Date: Sunday, 9 January, 2022
- Number of Participants: 50
- Venue: Online (Virtual mode)
- Target Participants: Students, Ph.D. students, Post-Docs, and early career scientists.
- Participation fee for tutorial:
  - For Faculty/Scientists: ₹ 2000/-
  - For students : ₹ 1000/-

#### CONFERENCE SESSIONS

- Weather Radar Technology, Radar Calibration and Electromagnetism
- Operational Radar Networks and Products
- Applications of Radar data in Meteorology, Hydrology, and Urban planning
- Quantitative Precipitation Estimation (QPE) and Urban Hydrological Applications
- Microphysical Studies and Dual-polarization observations
- Severe Weather observations and Storm Electrification
- Use of Radar Data for NWP Models
- Moving platforms such as Airborne and Space-borne Radars
- Millimeter Wavelength Radars for cloud observations.
- Wind profiling radars

#### **PATRONS**

- Prof. R. V. Raja Kumar
   (Director IIT Bhubaneswar)
- Prof. Swarup Kumar Mahapatra (IIT Bhubaneswar)
- Dr M Ravichandran, (Secretary, MoES)
- Dr G Satheesh Reddy (Chairman, DRDO)
- Dr Mrutyunjay Mohapatra (DG IMD)
- Dr Amit Kumar Patra (Director, NARL)
- Dr K. Rajeev (Director, SPL)
- Dr A. K. Mitra (Head, NCMRWF)
- Shri Nilesh M. Desai (Director, SAC)
- Dr R Krishnan (Exec Director, CCCR, IITM)

# STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- Prof. V. Chandrasekar (Chair, CSU)
- Dr T. Narayana Rao (NARL Gadanki)
- Dr G. Pandithurai (IITM Pune)
- Shri Sai Krishnan, (Radar lab, IMD)
- Prof. Balaji Narasimhan (IIT Madras)
- Dr S. R. Kannan (IIT Bhubaneswar)
- Dr K. Jayanarayanan (IIT KGP)
- Dr D. Pradhan (IMD New Delhi)
- Dr Swaroop Sahoo (IIT Palakkad)

## LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE TECHNICAL COMMITTEE CHAIR

- Dr S. R. Kannan (SMS, IIT BBS)
- Dr K.Jayanarayanan (CORAL, IIT KGP)
- Dr Mihir Kumar Pandit (SMS, IIT BBS)
- Dr Sandeep Pattnaik (SEOCS, IIT BBS)
- Dr Kiranmayi Landu (SEOCS, IIT BBS)
- Dr Vinoi V (SEOCS, IIT BBS)
- Dr Meenu Ramadas (SIF, IIT BBS)
- Dr Barathram Ramkumar (SES, IIT BBS)
- Dr Yogesh Bhumkar (SMS, IIT BBS)

- Prof. V. Chandrasekar (CSU)
- Dr T. Narayana Rao (NARL, Gadanki)

















