IIT Bhubaneswar celebrates National Science Day on 28th February 2017

Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar celebrated the National Science Day (and Annual Research Scholars’ Day) on February 28, 2017 in order to commemorate the invention of the Raman Effect by the Indian physicist and Nobel Laureate Sir C. V. Raman. The event was celebrated in the presence of the students, research scholars, faculty members and the functionaries of the Institute.

The event was comprised of a poster presentation session by the Research Scholars of the Institute and a function held in the Institute Community Centre. The poster presentation session was inaugurated by the Hon’ble Director, Prof. R. V. Raja Kumar. In the poster presentation session, the Research Scholars displayed their research findings in posters and explained their research works to all.

In his address, the Director wished a very Happy Science Day to all and emphasized on focused research towards development of next generation communication technology, based on advanced signal processing tools, for aerospace and defense applications. The Guest of Honor for the occasion was Prof. A. Srinivasan, Professor in School of Chemical Sciences, NISER. He also gave a spirited address the students. It was followed by announcement of the three best posters, as evaluated by a panel of experts, by Prof. N. C. Sahoo, Dean (Academic Affairs). The prize winners were: Jeeban Nayak from School of Basic Sciences (1st prize), Manu S. Nadesan from School of Infrastructure (2nd prize) and Debiprasanna Sahoo from School of Electrical Sciences (3rd prize). The cash prizes and certificates were awarded to the Research Scholars of these posters. The participation certificates were also given to all the Research Scholars participating in the poster presentation session.