



IIT Bhubaneswar organised the 12th event of Ek Bharat Shrestha Bharat on 15th September, 2018, depicting the culture of paired states Jammu & Kashmir and Tamil Nadu

IIT Bhubaneswar has organised the 12th day event of the scheduled 16 day events to commemorate Ek Bharat Shrestha Bharat (EBSB) initiative on 15th September 2018 to promote the spirit of national integration through a deep and structured engagement between paired states **Jammu & Kashmir and Tamil Nadu**, for enabling people to comprehend and admire the diversity of the nation, thus nurturing a sense of common identity.

India is a unique nation, whose fabric has been woven by diverse linguistic, cultural and religious threads, held together into a composite national identity by a rich history of cultural development, coupled with a rousing freedom struggle that was built around the tenets of non-violence and justice. The spirit of mutual understanding amidst a shared history has enabled a special unity in diversity, which stands out as a tall flame of nationhood that needs to be nourished and cherished into the future.

The "Ek Bharat Shrestha Bharat (EBSB)" programme, is an idea of a sustained and structured cultural connect between denizens of different regions was mooted by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi during the Rashtriya Ekta Divas held on 31st October, 2015, to commemorate the birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. Hon'ble Prime Minister propounded that cultural diversity is a joy that ought to be celebrated through mutual interaction & reciprocity between people of different states and union territories so that a common spirit of understanding resonates throughout the country. All the 36 States/ union territories in India have been sixteen paired for an entire year, during which they would carry out a structured engagement with one another in the spheres of language, literature, cuisine, festivals, cultural events, tourism etc.

Under able supervision of Director, Prof. R. V. Raja Kumar, IIT Bhubaneswar geared up fully responding to directive of MHRD for this integrative initiative to celebrate the unity in diversity of our Nation and to sustain and toughen the fabric of traditionally existing emotional bonds between the people of our country. The commencement of the series of events have been inaugurated on 15th November 2017 and 12 events are already been organised as per the premeditated schedule.

In this 12th event many students, faculty, staffs and their family members enthusiastically performed cultural activities on an integrative content relating to the paired states. More than 40 performers from various cultural society of students' Gymkhana, faculties and family members of faculties and staffs performed on the music, song, culture of the paired states. Spot quiz competition was organized with questions based on the information on the three paired states with active participation of the audience. In the event informative videos were displayed based on the music, dance, handicrafts, literature, festivals, painting, sports, sculpture, flora, fauna, etc., of the paired states in order to enable audiences learn about different cultural units across varied geographies and to imbibe the innate chord of binding and brotherhood. Also to showcase the culture, customs and traditions, art forms, handicrafts, cuisines of either state to impress upon the discerning audience about the inter-connectedness between the constituents of various cultures and traditions, which is so vital for the spirit of

nation building, a photo gallery prepared by Dr. Manaswini and Dr. Meenu were displayed at the venue. The event was given a complete official media coverage by Doordarshan, Bhubaneswar apart from that full video coverage to the event was given by Cinematic society of students' gymkhana. On this occasion, EBSB team member Dr. Meenu Ramadas welcomed the audience and presented a token of appreciation to all the performers, for their impressive and vigorous performances, in presence of other EBSB members namely Dr. Rajesh R. Dash, Dr. Manaswini Behera, Dr. Ankur Gupta, Dr. Sankarshan Mohaatro, Dr. Tabrez Khan and Dr. Yogesh G. Bhumkar.