School of Basic Sciences

Faculty Members

iit_1564535815.jpg

Dr. Abhishek Chowdhury

Assistant Professor
achowdhury@iitbbs.ac.in, achowdhurig@gmail.com
Tel: +91 6747135174
Research Interests: String Theory; Black Holes; QFT; Moonshine...
iit_1620802855.jpg

Dr. Aneesh M

Assistant Professor
aneesh at iitbbs.ac.in, aneeshkolappa at gmail dot com
Research Interests: Operator theory; Functional analysis...
iit_1593636776.jpg

Dr. Ashis Biswas

Associate Professor
abiswas@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 06747135118
Research Interests: 1. Investigating the inhibitory potential of different plant polyphenols against SARS...
iit_1500291773.jpg

Dr. Bankim Chandra Mandal

Assistant Professor
bmandal(AT)iitbbs(DOT)ac(DOT)in
Tel: 0674-713-5160
Research Interests: Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing, Partial Differential Equations, Domain Deco...
iit_1332165034.JPG

Dr. Chandrasekhar Bhamidipati

Associate Professor
chandrasekhar@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 0674-713-5126
Research Interests: General Relativity and Quantum Gravity; String Theory and Black Holes; Thermodyna...
iit_1648757682.jpg

Dr. Hemant Kumar

Assistant Professor
hemant@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91-674-713-5178
Research Interests: Computational condensed matter; Electronic and magnetic properties of 2D materials; ...
iit_1594086006.jpg

Dr. Indrajit Jana

Assistant Professor
ijana@iitbbs.ac.in
Research Interests: Computational condensed matter; Electronic and magnetic properties of 2D materials; ...
iit_1407377235.jpg

Dr. Kousik Samanta

Assistant Professor
kousik@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91-674-713-5128
Research Interests: Development and application of theoretical and computational methods to study ...
iit_1603836697.jpg

Dr. Nirmalendu Acharyya

Assistant Professor
nirmalendu@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91 674 713 5180
Research Interests: Mathematical physics; Quantum field theory; Open quantum systems; Biosensing...
iit_1589718495.jpg

Prof. Parlapalli Venkata Satyam

Professor
satyam@iitbbs.ac.in, pvsatyam22@gmail.com
Tel: 0674-713-5884
Research Interests: Surface and Interface Physics of Materials – Applications to Industry   Electron...
1267001854Rajan-Jha-big.jpg

Dr. Rajan Jha

Associate Professor, HoS
rjha@iitbbs.ac.in, rajaniitd@gmail.com
Tel: 674-713-5136
Research Interests: Coupling Photonic nanostructures to Nanowaveguides and resonators Semi-Cla...
1266997484Dr-Pani-Big.jpg

Dr. Sabyasachi Pani

Associate Professor
spani@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 674-713-5138
Research Interests: Variational Inequalities, Complementarity Problems, Optimization Techniques, Mathemat...
iit_1353423479.jpg

Prof. Saroj Kumar Nayak

Professor
nayaks@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91-674-713-5140
Research Interests: First Principles Molecular dynamics Simulations, Nanostructures, Quantum transport, Q...
iit_1541375232.jpg

Dr. Sasmita Barik

Associate Professor
sasmita AT iitbbs DOT ac DOT in
Tel: 0674-7135142
Research Interests: Combinatorial Matrix Theory; Spectral Graph Theory...
iit_1592486148.jpg

Dr. Shantanu Pal

Associate Professor
spal@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 0674 7135148
Research Interests: Development of novel methodologies using transition metal catalyzed C-C an...
iit_1623392076.jpeg

Dr. Shyamal Chatterjee

Associate Professor
shyamal@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 674-713-5150
Research Interests: 1. Accelerator based physics of atoms, molecules and solids 2. Engineering nanostruc...
1267003310Sneha-ashish-big.jpg

Dr. Snehasis Chowdhuri

Associate Professor
snehasis@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 674-713-5152
Research Interests: Theoretical Chemistry, Molecular modeling, Molecular Dynamics simulations...
1268302283s-roy-big.jpg

Prof. Sujit Roy

Professor
sroy@iitbbs.ac.in, sujitroy.chem@gmail.com, royiitkgp@gmail.com
Tel: 674-7135158
Research Interests: Organometallic Chemistry; C-H Functionalization; Alcohol Activation; Multimetallic Ca...
iit_1500652252.jpg

Dr. Sunil Kumar Prajapati

Assistant Professor
skprajapati@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 674-713-5160
Research Interests: Algebra...
iit_1578543234.jpg

Prof. T.V.S. Sekhar

Professor
sekhartvs@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91 674 7135100 (HoS), +91 674 713 5162
Research Interests: Computational Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Methods to PDE ...
iit_1583815094.jpg

Dr. Tarakanta Nayak

Associate Professor
tnayakATiitbbsDOTacDOTin
Tel: 674-713-5166
Research Interests: Complex Dynamics; Fractals; Independence polynomials and Independent fractals of grap...
1266999679V-R-Pedireddi-big.jpg

Prof. V. R. Pedireddi

Professor
vr.pedireddi@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 674-713-5168
Research Interests: Supramolecular Chemistry, Molecular Recognition, Organic Solid State & Materials Chem...
iit_1611695030.jpg

Dr. Vasudeva Rao Allu

Associate Professor
avrao@iitbbs.ac.in, alluvasudevarao(AT)gmail(DOT)com
Tel: +91-674-7135120
Research Interests: Complex Analysis; Geometric Function Theory; Harmonic Mappings in the Plane....
1270551175Abhijeet-big.jpg

Dr. Abhijit Datta Banik

Associate Professor
adattabanik@iitbbs.ac.in, banikad@gmail.com
Tel: +06747135108
Research Interests: Queueing Theory, Applied Probability Models, Stochastic Modelling and Simulation, Sto...
iit_1667517664.jpg

Dr. Akash Ashirbad Panda

Assistant professor
akashpanda@iitbbs.ac.in, akashp595@gmail.com
Research Interests: Stochastic analysis of Partial Differential Equations (SPDEs) Weak and Str...
iit_1669404721.jpeg

Dr. Akhilesh Kumar Singh

Associate Professor
aksingh@iitbbs.ac.in, akhileshiitk@gmail.com
Tel: Office: +91-674-7135114; Lab: +91-674-7135350
Research Interests: 1. T1 and ParaCEST Based Contrast Agents for MRI  2. Magnetochemistry of 3d ...
iit_1438733403.jpg

Prof. Akshay Kumar Ojha

Professor
akojha@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91 674-713-5116
Research Interests: (1) Multi Objective Multilevel and Multi taxing Optimization Problems.   (2) Analy...
iit_1635552466.jpg

Dr. Anasuya Roychowdhury

Associate Professor
aroychowdhury@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 674-713-5106
Research Interests: Oncogenic mechanisms of gastrointestinal (Stomach/gastric, pancreatic, colorect...
iit_1669675699.jpg

Dr. Arpan Dutta

 Assistant Professor
arpandutta@iitbbs.ac.in, arpan.cmi@gmail.com
Research Interests: Valuation Theory; Algebraic Geometry; Commutative Algebra....
iit_1567212483.jpg

Dr. Avijit Kumar

Assistant Professor
avijitkumar@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91-(0)674 713 5176
Research Interests: Two-Dimensional Materials: Graphene, 2D TMDs; Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs); Energy...
iit_1452040757.jpg

Dr. Malay Kumar Bandyopadhyay

Associate Professor
malay@iitbbs.ac.in, malaybnj@gmail.com
Tel: 674-713-5130
Research Interests: Nonequilibrium Statistical Mechanics , Nanomagnetism, Quantum Dissipation & Decohere...
1270819232Niharika-Mohapatra.jpg

Dr. Niharika Mohapatra

Associate Professor
niharika@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91 674 713 5134
Research Interests: Experimental condensed matter physics (Strongly Correlated electron system, inc...
iit_1615260859.jpg

Dr. Pramod Padmanabhan

Assistant Professor
ppadmana@iitbbs.ac.in
Research Interests: Experimental condensed matter physics (Strongly Correlated electron system, inc...
iit_1656185777.jpg

Dr. Satchidananda Rath

Associate Professor
srath@iitbbs.ac.in, snrath08@gmail.com
Tel: +91 9439858204, 674-713-5144
Research Interests: Nanoclusters for molecular electronics Application;  Two-dimensional nanostruct...
iit_1601513374.png

Dr. Seema Bahinipati

Associate Professor
seema.bahinipati@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91 674 713-5146
Research Interests: Experimental High Energy Physics B Physics Charm Physics CP violation Beyond Stan...
iit_1517788411.jpg

Dr. Soumendra Rana

Associate Professor
soumendra@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: +91-674-7135154 (Office); +91-674-7135354 (Lab)
Research Interests: Structure Function Studies on Peptide or Protein binding G-protein Coupled Rece...
iit_1527186745.jpg

Dr. Srikanta Patra

Associate Professor
srikanta@iitbbs.ac.in, patra17@gmail.com
Tel: 0674-7135156
Research Interests: Metal Mediated Organic Transformations (Catalysis), Metal Based Anticancer Drugs, Fun...

Dr. Tabrez Khan

Associate Professor
tabrez@iitbbs.ac.in
Tel: 0674 7135164
Research Interests: Synthetic Method Development; Natural Product Synthesis; Heterocyclic Chemistry; Orga...
iit_1546466095.jpg

Dr. Vijayakrishna Kari

Associate Professor
kvijayakrishna@iitbbs.ac.in, vijayakrishnakari@gmail.com
Tel: +91 674 713 5122
Research Interests: Synthesis of task specific ILs and polymerizable IL monomers; Synthesis of Chiral Pol...