भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान भुवनेश्वर

Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar

Press Release

IIT Bhubaneswar organises 12th and 13th Combined Convocation

Hon'ble Union Minister of Education Shri Dharmendra Pradhan ji graced the occasion as Chief Guest

Bhubaneswar, 28th December 2024: Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar has organised its 12th and 13th Combined Convocation on 28th December 2024. Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Hon'ble Union Minister of Education, Govt. of India graced the occasion as the Chief Guest and delivered the Convocation address. Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood, Principal Scientific Advisor, Govt. of India; Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary, Dept. of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India and Prof. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Dept. of Science & Technology, Govt. of India were the Guests of Honour. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Bhubaneswar presided over the Convocation. Prof. Shreepad Karmalkar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar presented the Convocation report and awarded the degrees to the students.

During this Convocation, the Institute conferred degrees on 1388 students for the academic years 2022-23 and 2023-24. Out of these students, 8% are PhD, 19% M.Tech, 14% M.Sc, 14% Dual degree (B.Tech and M.Tech) and 45% B.Tech.

Speaking on the occasion, Hon'ble Minister Shri Pradhan said: "ITT Bhubaneswar should strive to become an institute of Knowledge, Research and Innovation. Being graduates of IIT, they should make efforts towards becoming job creators rather than being job seekers. They should make themselves ready to be contributors in Industrial Revolution 4.0. The educational institutions and faculty members should work towards redefining the attitude and aptitude of the students towards entrepreneurship." He stressed that the research of the country should move beyond academic publications and achieve global benchmarks in terms of innovation and entrepreneurial acumen. "IIT Bhubaneswar and its students should work towards boosting the start-up and entrepreneurial ecosystem to enhance the growth process of Odisha by 2036 and of the country by 2047," he added.

In his address, Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood said stressed on knowledge creation through research and innovation to become globally competitive. Collaborative partnerships between academia and industry, fostering a multi-disciplinary approach, funding and investment in groundbreaking research and cutting-edge infrastructure and a skilled and diverse workforce are imperative for the development of research ecosystem. He mentioned about the Anusandhan Research Foundation (ANRF) and its objective.

Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty said that human knowledge and human competence is irreplaceable even in the age of artificial intelligence and machine learning. The youth of the country have the potential to innovate, and they should utilise this power towards the development of the country, he added.

Addressing the gathering, Prof. Abhay Karandikar appreciated IIT Bhubaneswar for becoming a hub of cutting-edge research and innovation. He mentioned that while the country has taken a giant leap in the field of science and technology to make a mark in global map. India has become the 3rd largest in terms of start-up ecosystem in the world which showcases the innovation and entrepreneurial prowess of the country. The youth of the country should take the cue and work towards contributing in making India leader in the field of research and innovation.

Speaking on the occasion, Prof. Shreepad Karmalkar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar presented a detailed report on various efforts and achievements of IIT Bhubaneswar. He said, "Since its inception in the year 2008, IIT Bhubaneswar has traversed a long way. In recent years, it has aligned itself with the NEP 2020 initiative towards the Viksit Bharat @ 2047 vision. We are working with the motto: Follow no one, But learn from Everyone, and Acknowledge it too. Follow no one means Be Original, Learn from Everyone means Be open to feedback and criticism, and Acknowledge it too – means duly acknowledge others contributions in your achievements." He shared the key milestones of IIT Bhubaneswar's journey towards excellence in research, academics and entrepreneurship.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman, Board of Governors (BoG) motivated the students and said that with its cutting-edge facilities and focus on innovation, the institute empowers graduates to lead in transformative technologies while upholding environmental sustainability and cultural values. He stressed upon finding simple solution to every complex problem.

After the Convocation, Hon'ble Minister visited the ground breaking Industry-Academia Research and Innovation Center on Silicon Carbide and interacted with the semiconductor researchers. He also visited the Research and Entrepreneurship Park and interacted with the Start-ups incubated under IIT Bhubaneswar.

During this Convocation, the Institute conferred degrees on 1388 students out of which 105 PhD, 269 M. Tech, 197 M.Sc, 192 Dual Degree (B. Tech & M. Tech), and 625 B. Tech for the academic years 2022-23 and 2023-24. It was a proud moment for the graduating students, their parents, the faculty and staff members and the administration of the institute.

For the year 2022-23, the **President of India Gold Medal** was awarded to **Shri Harsh Singh Jadon** of the Computer Science and Engineering for the best academic performance among all the **B.Tech** students. For the year 2023-24, the **President of India Gold Medal** was awarded to **Shri Arnav Kumar Behera** of the Computer Science and Engineering.

An Interaction Meeting on "Exploring Pathways and Prospects for the Future of Research in India" with Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood, Principal Scientific Advisor to the Government of India and Prof. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Department of Science & Technology, Government of India was successfully organised by DST, ANRF and IIT Bhubaneswar today. The dignitaries addressed the queries of the faculties members, deans and Vice Chancellors from various institutes across Odisha.
