### भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान भुवनेश्वर

### **Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar**

### **Press Release**

# IIT Bhubaneswar all set to hold 12<sup>th</sup> and 13<sup>th</sup> Combined Convocation

## Hon'ble Union Minister of Education Shri Dharmendra Pradhan ji to grace the occasion as Chief Guest

**Bhubaneswar, 27**<sup>th</sup> **December 2024:** Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar is all set to celebrate its 12<sup>th</sup> and 13<sup>th</sup> Combined Convocation on 28<sup>th</sup> December 2024. Prof. Shreepad Karmalkar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar addressed a pre-event press conference on the eve of the occasion.

Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Hon'ble Union Minister of Education, Govt. of India will grace the occasion as the Chief Guest and will deliver the Convocation address. Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood, Principal Scientific Advisor, Govt. of India; Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary, Dept. of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India and Prof. Abhay Karandikar Secretary, Dept. of Science & Technology, Govt. of India will be the Guests of Honour. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman, Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Bhubaneswar will present the Convocation. Prof. Shreepad Karmalkar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar will present the Convocation report and award the degrees to the students.

During this Convocation, the Institute will confer degrees on 1388 students for the academic years 2022-23 and 2023-24. Out of these students, 8% are PhD, 19% M.Tech, 14% M.Sc, 14% Dual degree (B.Tech and M.Tech) and 45% B.Tech.

The following awards will be handed over to the best performing students during the convocation.

### President of India Gold Medal:

2022-23: Shri Harsh Singh Jadon of the Computer Science and Engineering for the best academic performance among all the B.Tech students

2023-24: Shri Arnav Kumar Behera of the Computer Science and Engineering among all the B.Tech of students.

### Director's Gold Medals for Best Academic Performances:

Dual Degree (B.Tech and M.Tech):

2022-23: Shri Manish Kausik H of Computer Science and Engineering branch

2023-24: Shri Subhajit Banerjee of the Civil Engineering branch

M Tech

2022-23: Ms. Prasadinee Maharana of the Metallurgical & Materials Engineering discipline

2023-24: Shri Prateek Goswami of the Structural Engineering discipline

M.Sc.:

2022-23: Shri Anantha Krishna B of Mathematics

2023-24: Shri Colin Jacob of Physics

### Institute Silver Medals for Best Academic Performances in different branches:

B.Tech.:

2022-23: Ms. Jeetika Patangia, Shri Harsh Singh Jadon, Shri Prajwal Kumar Sahu, Shri Alahari Sai Nagamanu, Shri Cheekala Sashank and Shri Gaurav Baradwaj S. K.

2023-24: Ms. Perisetti Sree Sravya, Shri Arnav Kumar Behera, Shri Sambit Pal, Shri Aarsh Pandey, Shri Kanhu Charan Pradhan and Shri Naini Kamal

Dual Degree:

2022-23: Shri Priyansh Kumar Nigam, Shri Manish Kausik H., Shri Kartik Tewari and Ms. Pushadapu Susmitha

2023-24: Shri Sushant Kumar, Ms. Sidharthenee Nayak, Shri Arka Pal and Shri Subhajit Banerjee

M.Tech:

2022-23: Shri Mirza Rahem Hasan, Shri N.V.S.S.K. Suman, Shri Parvatam Rajith Bhargav, Shri Tamilselvan C, Shri Beenish Reyaz and Ms. Prasadinee Maharana

2023-24: Ms. Sai Sushma R, Shri Lalit Lohani, Shri Adarsh Kumar Nayak, Shri Raj Kamal, Shri Vanaparthi Rohith, Shri Prateek Goswami and Shri Ajith Bharathvaaj L. R. *M.Sc.:* 

2022-23: Ms. Ananya Sen, Shri S. S. Soham Mohanty, Ms. Soheli Sadhukhan, Shri Anantha Krishna B. and Shri Adarsh P Mathew

2023-24: Ms. Deepti Dahiya, Ms. Sheetal Samal, Ms. Swati Chakraborty, Shri Shubho Ghosh and Shri Colin Jacob

### **Endowment Awards:**

Dr. K. Kasturirangan Award for the best Male Graduate

2022-23: Shri Harsh Singh Jadon

2023-24: Shri Arnav Kumar Behera

Prof. P. Rama Rao Award for best Lady Graduate

2022-23: Ms. Jeetika Patangia

2023-24: Ms. Ayushi Kabra

Dinesh Memorial Award for best B.Tech Thesis in Mechanical Sciences

2022-23: Ms. Chauhan Madhu Ganeshsingh

2023-24: Shri. Vardhan Mittal

B. K. De Memorial Award for the best B.Tech Thesis

2022-23: Shri Kandalam Sai Harshith and Ms. Chauhan Madhu Ganeshsingh

2023-24: Shri Vardhan Mittal and Shri Pravendra Patel

Tejaswi Memorial Award for best B.Tech Thesis in Electrical and Computer Sciences 2023-24: Shri Mushini Akshaya

Prof. Shreepad Karmalkar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar addressed the press conference and shared the above information. He also said, "It is a proud moment for the graduating students, their parents, the faculty and staff members and the administration of the institute. The institute is striving to achieve excellence in academics, research and entrepreneurship. We are very privileged that Hon'ble Union Minister of Education and three top policy makers for the Science and Technology in our country have consented to grace the occasion and motivate the graduating students".

Among others, Prof. Shantanu Pal, Dean-Under Graduate Programs; Prof. Chandrashekhar N. Bhende, Dean-PG & Research Programs and Shri Bamadev Acharya, Registrar were present on the occasion and addressed the queries of the media persons.

\_\_\_\_\_