English   |   साईट मैप
Follow Us:

The 64th Congress of Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ISTAM 2019) organised by IIT Bhubaneswar

09th Dec, 2019 Bhubaneswar: IIT Bhubaneswar jointly organised the 64th Congress of Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ISTAM 2019) from 9th to 12th December, 2019. The Annual Congress of the society in the past have been held at all reputed and premier institutes across the country and this time by turn organized at IIT Bhubaneswar. Prof. Guirong Liu, University of Cincinnati, USA graced the occasion as the Chief Guest. The inaugural event was presided over by Prof. R.V. Raja Kumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar.

It gives me immense pleasure that the School of Mechanical Sciences and School of Basic Sciences (Mathematics), IIT Bhubaneswar are jointly organizing the 64th Congress of Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ISTAM 2019). The community of ISTAM deserves to be complemented for gaining strength over 64 years and emerging as an interdisciplinary research platform. The Society has a unique philosophy to encourage and motivate young minds towards research and development. It is heartening to note that more than 300 numbers of contributory papers have been accepted for oral presentations at the congress with participations across the globe. The four day long deliberations which brings the brightest of minds in the field of Applied Mechanics together will definitely lead to fruitful discussions and research collaboration that would benefit the society. I welcome all the delegates to the green and serene campus of IIT Bhubaneswar at the foothills of the Barunei which is famous for its rich history. I would also like to thank ISTAM for providing IIT Bhubaneswar with the opportunity to co-host the congress. I wish the conference a grand success, an immensely fruitful time for the participants during the same and congratulate the organizing team of The 64th Congress of ISTAM 2019”, said Prof. R.V. Raja Kumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar.

Present during the occasion were Prof. PVSN Murthy, Chairperson, ISTAM, DK Maiti, Secretary, ISTAM, Prof. Swarup Kumar Mahapatra, Dean Continuing Education, Dr. T.V.S Sekhar, Head, School of Basic Sciences, Dr. Mihir Kumar Pandit, Head, School of Mechanical Sciences, Dr. Arun Kumar Pradhan, Organizing Secretary, ISTAM, IIT Bhubaneswar. The event had memorial and invited lectures from eminent international and Indian experts from academics, research institutions and industries. This year too, the congress attracted a large number of delegates from India and abroad. The event proved to be immensely beneficial for students, academicians, researchers, professionals from various public and private sector and industries. Vote of thanks was done by Dr. Arun Kumar Pradhan.

© 2020-21 भारतीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, सभी अधिकार सुरक्षित